Bookslut raves about Spanked

I was so thrilled to see this post by Melissa Lion at Bookslut (thanks Felicia for letting me know), not just because she called me her favorite sex writer

I read her intro — excellent. And then I started the first story. And nearly cried. Not because it was so stimulating (though it was) but because of the narrator. It’s told from a man’s point of view, the spanker. He is so wonderful and attentive and smart about what women must feel like down on all fours their butts in the air, posed in quite possibly the most unflattering position known in sex. Finally, a guy saying, gee, that must be a little hard on the old self-esteem…

Then she quotes from Rick Roberts’s fantastic first story “Spanking You” before concluding:

I love that the narrator clearly knows exactly what’s going on with this woman. I love that he acknowledges it and moves on. I wonder though, do most guys think this way? Do most guys know it’s sort of horrifying to be in that position? Erotic, but horrible? Or are they thinking what I always believe they’re thinking, “this girl is fine, but my last lay was a 19-year-old supermodel?

I mean, wow. Hot spanking erotica that can make people cry? I love it because she’s acknowledging that while erotica’s aim is arousal, it has the potential to do so much more. I have been thinking about this book a lot lately as I write interview questions for the authors and realizing that they touch on so, so many very intense emotions. Spanking is not just about getting off, but about, often, confronting some deep-seated fears and taboos. It’s about making yourself vulnerable, playing with power, letting go. Those can be heady things to play with and I’m glad Lion saw that potential and it moved her.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

